Richard Dyer-bennet With Young People In Mind

Richard Dyer-Bennet

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: SFW45053

Release Date:  25 January 2000

Label:  Smithsonian Folkways

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  093074505328

Genres:  Childrens  

  • Description

    Richard Dyer-Bennet, world-renowned troubadour, performs sixteen songs that have captivated children and their parents for centuries. With origins in England and the United States, some resemble fairy tales, while others sound more like adventure stories, and still others seem just for fun. Dyer-Bennet’s high tenor voice, clear diction, and masterful guitar accompaniment create a variety of mods and rhythms through which children can explore these fantasies. Originally released in 1958 on Dyer-Bennet Records Volume 6. Original notes and song texts included; 18-page booklet. 35 minutes. "Probably we have no greater balladeer in America than Richard Dyer-Bennet....No musically inclined family can afford to miss it." —Emma Dickson Sheehy, Parents Magazine

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Come All Ye
      • 2. Old Bangum
      • 3. Three Jolly Rogues Of Lynn
      • 4. Aunt Rhody
      • 5. Frog Went A-Courtin'
      • 6. John Peel
      • 7. Leprechaun
      • 8. Piper Of Dundee
      • 9. Bow Down
      • 10. Tailor And The Mouse
      • 11. I Went Out One Morning In May
      • 12. Green Corn
      • 13. Buckeye Jim
      • 14. Little Pigs
      • 15. Three Craw
      • 16. Hole In The Bottom Of The Sea