An Introduction To The Blues Of Ray Agee - Another Fool Sings The Blues

Ray Agee

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: JASMCD3258

Release Date:  14 July 2023

Label:  Jasmine Records

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  604988325829

Genres:  Blues  Rhythm and Blues  

  • Description

    He recorded regularly for more than a quarter of a century without scoring even one national hit, and he remains largely unknown outside of blues and R&B collector circles - but within those circles, Ray Agee is among the most highly rated and revered west coast bluesmen of his generation.
    Blessed with a relaxed singing style akin to that of the great Bobby Bland (who cut Ray's song 'I've Been Wrong So Long' in 1960), Ray recorded for a swathe of the biggest and best California R&B labels in the 50s - the period covered by this new Jasmine collection - and his sessions were supervised by some of the highest profile names of both the era and genre, including Jerry Leiber & Mike Stoller and Bob Geddins. That none became hits is no reflection on the high quality of the music this collection contains.

    Although Ray's work has been extensively anthologised in the past, there has never been such a comprehensively assembled CD anthology - and never a UK CD anthology, either - covering his peak years before now. Anyone with even a passing interest in smooth, cool vocal blues will find plenty to enjoy here.

    It hopefully goes without saying that, as with all Jasmine CDs, "Another Fool Sings The Blues" offers music of the highest quality IN the highest quality, expertly remastered and coming to you with a copiously annotated and handsomely illustrated booklet!

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Black Night Is Gone
      • 2. Love's Limit
      • 3. I Brought It All Upon Myself
      • 4. Brought It All On Myself
      • 5. Flirtin Blues
      • 6. It's Bed Time, Baby
      • 7. My Lonesome Days Are Gone
      • 8. No More Blue Shadows Falling
      • 9. Deep Trouble
      • 10. The One I Love
      • 11. Without A Friend
      • 12. Wobble-Loo
      • 13. Another Fool (Sings The Blues)
      • 14. Till Death Do Us Part
      • 15. The Devils Angels
      • 16. True Lips
      • 17. My Silent Prayer
      • 18. You Hit Me Where It Hurts
      • 19. Tin Pan Alley
      • 20. Pray For Me
      • 21. Swingin' Partner
      • 22. These Things Are True
      • 23. Love Bug
      • 24. Tijuana