Oak Ash And Thorn

Peter Bellamy

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: TECD174

Release Date:  23 May 2011

Label:  Talking Elephant

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5028479017423

Genres:  Folk  English Folk  

  • Description

    A collection of songs from the "Puck" stories by Rudyard Kipling, set and performed in the traditional idiom by Peter Bellamy.

    Peter Bellamy, one of the original members of the Young Tradition went on to a successful solo career before tragically taking his own life in September 1991.

    Among his most famous were his connections with Rudyard Kipling.
    Bellamy started his exploration of Kipling as a source for songs, from Kipling's Children's books, (Puck of Pooks Hill and Rewards and Fairies) from which he produced two albums, 'Oak Ash and Thorn' and 'Merlyn's Isle of Gramarye'.

    Talking Elephant are proud to be re-releasing both of these albums in their finery starting with 'Oak, Ash and the Thorn'.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Frankie's Trade
      • 2. Poor Honest Men
      • 3. Cold Iron
      • 4. Sir Richard's Song
      • 5. The Looking Glass
      • 6. Oak, Ash & Thorn (A Tree Song)
      • 7. King Henry VII and the Shipwrights
      • 8. The Brookland Road
      • 9. A Three Part Song
      • 10. The Ballad of Minepit Shaw
      • 11. Our Fathers of Old
      • 12. Philadelphia