Sings Big Bill / Muddy Waters At Newport 1960 (Expanded)

Muddy Waters

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: JASMCD3275

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  29 March 2024

Label:  Jasmine Records

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  604988327526

Genres:  Blues  

  • Description

    By 1960, Muddy Waters had been the acknowledged "King Of Chicago Blues" for some ten years, having built up a loyal audience and registering a string of hits. However his traditional market had been working class and blue collar African Americans, who generally didn't buy albums. Consequently, in an endeavour to expand his audience by crossing him over to the white market, his record company, Chess, issued two LPs by Muddy during 1960.

    One was "Muddy Waters Sings Big Bill", a tribute to the late Big Bill Broonzy, which were his first stereo recordings.

    The second was "Muddy Waters At Newport, 1960", recorded live during his highly acclaimed set at the Newport Jazz Festival that year. Both are paired up on this unique compilation, which also features five bonus cuts, being live recordings from the Newport gig.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Tell Me Baby
      • 2. Southbound Train
      • 3. When I Get To Thinking
      • 4. Just A Dream (On My Mind)
      • 5. Double Trouble
      • 6. I Feel So Good
      • 7. I Done Got Wise
      • 8. Moppers' Blues
      • 9. Lonesome Road Blues
      • 10. Hey, Hey
      • 11. I Got My Brand On You
      • 12. I'm Your Hoochie Coochie Man
      • 13. Baby Please Don't Go
      • 14. Soon Forgotten
      • 15. I Wanna Put A Tiger In Your Tank
      • 16. I Feel So Good
      • 17. Got My Mojo Working (Part 1)
      • 18. Got My Mojo Working (Part 2)
      • 19. Goodbye Newport Blues
      • 20. Catfish Blues
      • 21. Boogie Woogie (By Otis Spann)
      • 22. Slow Blues (By Otis Spann)
      • 23. Jump Blues (By Otis Spann)
      • 24. St. Louis Blues (By Otis Spann)