Mary Lou Williams

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: SFW40811

Release Date:  17 October 1995

Label:  Smithsonian Folkways

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  093074081129

Genres:  Jazz  

  • Description

    Thirteen tracks (including previously unreleased version of Syl-o-gism and Gloria) embodying her always-distinctive compositions, lyricism, power, and adventurous harmonies. In the extensive notes to this reissue, Bob Blumenthal states that "its appearance in 1974 served as a revelation and a reaffirmation of what had always made Williams so unique. She was still stretching the boundaries, with harmonic, rhythmic, and formal notions that bordered on the avant-garde; yet her ear for melody and her deep immersion in the blues idiom remained." Williams is backed by pianist Zita Carno, bassist Bob Crenshaw, and drummer Mickey Roker. "Her music remains so fresh and free." —Musician

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Syl-O-Gism
      • 2. Olinga
      • 3. Medi II
      • 4. Gloria
      • 5. Intermission
      • 6. Zoning Fungus II
      • 7. Holy Ghost
      • 8. Medi I
      • 9. Rosa Mae
      • 10. Ghost Of Love
      • 11. Praise The Lord
      • 12. Gloria
      • 13. Play It Momma