She Got What Her Daddy Likes

Mary Deloatch A.K.A. Marylyn Scott

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: JASMCD3276

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  10 November 2023

Label:  Jasmine Records

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  604988327625

Genres:  Blues  Gospel  

  • Description

    Mary Deloatch recorded a half-dozen killer Gospel records under her real name, while as "Marylyn Scott, The Carolina Blues Girl", she cut a handful of powerful R&B releases which were, musically, wholly at odds with her Gospel sides.

    She nonetheless remains something of a "Great Unknown", and someone who was seriously under-recorded, judging by the twenty-one sides featured herein, which appear to comprise her entire recorded output.

    Her best-known releases were probably 'I Got What My Daddy Likes' / 'Let's Do The Boogie Woogie' and 'Beer Bottle Boogie' / 'Uneasy Blues' as "Marylyn", and 'Rumors Of War' / 'Life Was A Burden' as "Mary".

    All her records have been fiercely-collectable for decades, and they remain a devastating recorded legacy.

    These sides are as rare as unicorn manure; all but three of these tracks have never previously appeared on CD, including two which have never previously been released.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Straighten Him Out
      • 2. Another Woman's Man
      • 3. The Monkey Song
      • 4. I Got What My Daddy Likes
      • 5. Let's Do The Boogie Woogie
      • 6. Beer Bottle Boogie
      • 7. Uneasy Blues
      • 8. I'll Ride On A Cloud With My Lord
      • 9. Our Father Loves His Son
      • 10. I Want To Die Easy
      • 11. I Really Believe
      • 12. If You Only Knew
      • 13. Mother Dear
      • 14. The New Gospel Street
      • 15. The Lord's Gospel Train
      • 16. Rumors Of War
      • 17. Life Was A Burden
      • 18. Move This Thing (Part 1)
      • 19. Move This Thing (Part 2)
      • 20. Just To Behold His Face
      • 21. Move This Thing