Byker Hill

Martin Carthy & Dave Swarbrick

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: TSCD342

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  09 June 2008

Label:  Topic

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5016272342026

Genres:  Folk  English Folk  

  • Description

    One of the great duos of all time, Martin Carthy & Dave Swarbrick joined up in early spring 1966 as a performing unit and were an immediate hit becoming, overnight, the most popular group in the burgeoning folk club scene in Britain.
    Martin was already the most important solo singer/guitarist on the folk scene with two successful albums for Fontana (with Dave joining him on several tracks). Dave was causing a sensation with his virtuoso fiddle playing, reconciling traditional instrumental styles with modern ideas and technique. Released in 1967, this was Martin's third album and it presented a fully integrated duo sound with Dave Swarbrick. As they grew in confidence and dexterity, Martin & Dave tested themselves with tricky rhythms and challenging songs, and the title track electrified the folk scene with its audacious syncopation. The album was most carefully planned and executed and remains an outstanding achievement.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. The Man Of Burnham Town
      • 2. The Fowler
      • 3. Gentleman Soldier
      • 4. Brigg Fair
      • 5. The Bloody Gardener
      • 6. The Barley Straw
      • 7. Byker Hill
      • 8. Davy Lowston
      • 9. Our Captain Cried All Hands
      • 10. Domeana
      • 11. The Wife Of The Soldier
      • 12. John Barleycorn
      • 13. Lucy Wan
      • 14. The Bonny Black Hare