Bach: Italian Concerto & French Overture

Mahan Esfahani

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: CDA68336

Release Date:  02 September 2022

Label:  Hyperion Records Ltd

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  034571283364

Genres:  Classical  Solo Instrumental  

  • Description

    Mahan Esfahani again highlights the radicalism, virtuosity—and sheer joyousness—of the works recorded here, both in his playing and in his uncommonly engaging booklet notes. Since making his London debut in 2009, Mahan Esfahani has established himself as the first harpsichordist in a generation whose work spans virtually all areas of classical music-making, from critically acclaimed performances and recordings of standard repertoire to working with the leading composers of the day and pioneering concerto appearances with major symphony orchestras on four continents.

    He was the first and only harpsichordist to be a BBC New Generation Artist (2008-2010), a Borletti-Buitoni prize winner (2009), a nominee for Gramophone's Artist of the Year (2014, 2015 and 2017) and on the shortlist as Instrumentalist of the Year for the Royal Philharmonic Society Awards (2013 and 2019).

    "at its pungent best, Esfahani's joie de vivre can be uniquely captivating." BBC Music Magazine on CDA68311/2

    "There's no questioning Esfahani's inquiring musical mind and absolute mastery of his instrument." Gramophone Editor's Choice

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Concerto Nach Italienischen Gusto 'Italian Concerto', BWV971 - I
      • 2. II. Andante
      • 3. III. Presto
      • 4. Ouverture Nach Franzosischer Art 'French Overture', BWV831 I. Ouverture
      • 5. II. Courante
      • 6. III. Gavotte I
      • 7. IV. Gavotte II
      • 8. V. Gavotte I Da Capo
      • 9. VI. Passepied I
      • 10. VII. Passepied II
      • 11. VIII. Passepied I Da Capo
      • 12. IX. Sarabande
      • 13. X. Bourree I
      • 14. XI. Bourree II
      • 15. XII. Bourree I Da Capo
      • 16. XIII. Gigue
      • 17. XIV. Echo
      • 18. Duet In E Minor, BWV802
      • 19. Duet In F Major, BWV803
      • 20. Duet In G Major, BWV804
      • 21. Duet In A Minor, BWV805
      • 22. Capriccio In B Flat Major 'on The Departure Of His Beloved Brother', BWV992
      • 23. II. Ist Eine Vorstellung Unterschiedlicher Casuum, Die Ihm In Der Fremde Könnten Vorfallen
      • 24. III. Ist Ein Allgemeines Lamento Der Freunde: Adagissimo
      • 25. IV. Allhier Kommen Die Freunde (weil Sie Doch Sehen, Dass Es Anders Nicht Sein Kann) Und Nehmen Abschied
      • 26. V. Aria Di Postiglione: Allegro Poco
      • 27. V. Aria Di Postiglione: Allegro Poco
      • 28. V. Aria Di Postiglione: Allegro Poco
      • 29. Capriccio In E Major 'in Honorem Johann Christoph Bachii Ohrdrufiensis', BWV993