His Greatest Hits

Louis Prima

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: JASCD327

Release Date:  01 October 1994

Label:  Jasmine Records

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5013727032723

Genres:  Jazz  Vocal Jazz  

  • Description

    This CD contains some Louis Prima's New York hits from the days of "His New Orleans Gang" to some time with his Orchestra. It is also the first album in which music master Morgan Thomas joined the band.

    The music on it varies so much, it is hard to pin-point what type of sounds Prima was making, but there are some very jaunty versions of his own composition "Brooklyn Boogie" and the trumpet solo on "The Music Goes Round and Round" is outstanding. Louis caringly sings about his love Keely Smith on "My Cucuzza," a bouncy romp, but perhaps the best recording which shows the band in its entirety is "Josephina, Please no Lean On The Bell." What a blast!!

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. The Lady In Red
      • 2. The Music Goes 'Round And 'Round
      • 3. I'm An Old Cowhand
      • 4. I'll Be Seeing You
      • 5. A'll Walk Alone
      • 6. My Dreams Are Getting Better All The Time
      • 7. Josephine, Please No Lean On The Bell
      • 8. Hey! Ba-Ba-Re-Bop
      • 9. Brooklyn Boogie
      • 10. Civilization (Bongo, Bongo, Bongo)
      • 11. The Thousand Islands Song
      • 12. My Cucuzza