Child Ballads: The Final Six

London Experimental Ensemble with Richard Thompson, Wesley Stace, Sivert Hoyem, Marissa Nadler and Gina Fergione

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 2LP

Cat No: LPDG288

Release Date:  07 July 2023

Label:  Don Giovanni

Packaging Type:  Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  634457140042

Genres:  Jazz  

  • Description

    The Child Ballads are 305 songs/broadsides of the British Isles - Created between three and five hundred years ago, they have become synonymous with modern folk music since the 1950s - The final six ballads (#'s 299-305) were never put to music until now.

    Assembled here are Richard Thompson (Fairport Convention), Sivert Hoyem (mult-platinum Norwegian music giant), Wesley Stace (John Wesley Harding), Ed Pettersen (Award-winning singer-songwriter/producer), Gina Fergione (composer/choir director) and Marissa Nadler (Indie-rock royalty) weaving beguiling original melodies to these classic tales of magic, love lost, myth, and high drama.

    The London Experimental Ensemble backs them.

  • Tracklisting

    1. Child Ballad 300 (Blanchflour and Jellyflorice)
    2. Child Ballad 301 (The Queen of Scotland)
    3. Child Ballad 302 (Young Bearwell)
    4. Child Ballad 303 (The Holy Nunnery)
    5. Child Ballad 304 (Young Ronald)

Liquid error (sections/featured-collection-pmc-artist line 90): comparison of String with 1 failed
Liquid error (sections/featured-collection-pmc-genre line 90): comparison of String with 2 failed