Diddy Boppers - Juke Box Pearls

Lillian Briggs

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: BCD17717

Release Date:  26 April 2024

Label:  Bear Family (Code 7)

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  4000127177179

Genres:  Rock 'N' Roll  Rhythm and Blues  

  • Description

    This CD compilation of 32 songs occasionally deviates from the chronological order and describes the career of a unique singer who also played the trombone. Starting with instrumental recordings of the Lillian Briggs Orchestra from the mid-50s - after Alan Freed discovered her - through rhythm & blues sounds and rock 'n' roll in her recordings for the Epic label and various other record companies to pop arrangements, jazz standards and twists of the later years: 'Diddy Boppers' presents the great stylistic diversity of a unique female singer.

    All of Lillian Briggs' hits are included, such as the CD title track Diddy Boppers. Perhaps many will remember I Want You To Be My Baby, which was recorded at the same time by Georgia Gibbs and is offered here in three different versions; as an instrumental version by the Lillian Briggs Orchestra, then in her best-known arrangement as a rhythm & blues heavy dance number and finally as a twist version from 1961. Her cover versions of Eddie My Love, Hey! Ba-Ba-Re-Bop, Rag Mop and the great Be Mine are also on this CD.

    A rousing album, not just for nostalgic fans and collectors. If you love expressive female singers, Lillian Briggs is the right choice!

    The CD comes with a 36-page color booklet with a Lillian Briggs biography by the renowned Chicago music journalist Bill Dahl, and many rare photos and illustrations!

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. I Want You To Be My Baby
      • 2. Don't Stay Away Too Long
      • 3. It Could've Been Me
      • 4. Can't Stop
      • 5. Rock'N'Roll-y Poly Santa Claus
      • 6. I Want You To Be My Baby (Instrumental)
      • 7. Delilah (Instrumental) (Acetate)
      • 8. Follow The Leader
      • 9. That's The Only Way To Live
      • 10. Eddie, My Love
      • 11. The Teens In Jeans From New Orleans
      • 12. The Gypsy Goofed
      • 13. I'll Be Gone
      • 14. Mean Words
      • 15. Sugar Blues
      • 16. Boogie Blues
      • 17. I
      • 18. She Sells Seashells
      • 19. Come Here
      • 20. Will We Meet Again
      • 21. Hey! Ba-Ba-Re-Bop
      • 22. I've Got Your Heart
      • 23. Rag Mop
      • 24. Is There A Man In The House?
      • 25. Blues In The Night
      • 26. Diddy Boppers
      • 27. Hooray For The Rock
      • 28. Not A Soul (Blanket Roll Blues)
      • 29. Be Mine (Alle Madchen wollen kussen)
      • 30. I Care For You
      • 31. I'm Burning For You
      • 32. I Want You To Be My Baby (1961 Version)