This Earthly Spell

Karine Polwart

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD


Release Date:  10 March 2008

Label:  Hegri Music

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  805520212526

Genres:  Folk  Scottish Folk  

  • Description

    The chiming opening track, a gorgeous vocal setting of a lyric by eminent Scots poet Edwin Morgan, gives way to the steely, swampy "Sorry", whilst the delightful jazz inflected whimsy of "The News" contrasts the anti-nuclear political bite of "Better Things" and the incisive "Painted It White". Unsurprisingly, for a new mum, three songs deal with motherhood. The poignant understatement of "Firethief", which Polwart wrote originally for HIV/AIDS documentary "The Enemy That Lives Within", one of BBC Radio 2's Radio Ballads, unravels a mother's loss; whilst she wrote the tender and delicate "Rivers Run" for her own son. But it's the eerie and atmospheric parable "Tongue That Cannot Lie" that, most of all, betrays Polwart's background as a former philosophy teacher, and her ongoing fascination with moral ambivalence. Inspired by the supernatural legend surrounding thirteenth century Scottish Borders poet and prophet Thomas The Rhymer, it also distinguishes her as an ambitious and captivating storyteller.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. The Good Years
      • 2. Sorry
      • 3. Better Things
      • 4. Rivers Run
      • 5. Painted It White
      • 6. Firethief
      • 7. Behind Our
      • 8. Eyes
      • 9. The News
      • 10. Sorrowlessfield
      • 11. Tongue That Cannot Lie