Summer Chill

Joe Webb

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: UBU0115CD

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  24 June 2022

Label:  Ubuntu Music / Ubuntu Management Group

Packaging Type:  Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5060451220278

Genres:  Jazz  Contemporary  

  • Description

    Joe Webb is highly regarded and leading force on the U.K jazz scene today. He grew up in Wales before moving to London in 2013, where he has been active ever since. Joe regularly performs around Europe and has played in venues such as Ronnie Scott's, Duc des Lombards, The Royal Albert Hall, Dizzy's Jazz Club in New York City and the CCB in Lisbon. Along with his trio and Webb City, he can be heard with the acclaimed Kansas Smitty's, Hailey Tuck, Adrian Cox and Rob Luft, as well as working with Jamie Cullum and many other artists. For Joe's newest release, Summer Chill, he has assembled some of his favourite musicians: some he has played with for many years and others who he has recently met. The band features, guitarist Alex Haines, bassist Will Sach, drummer Jas Kayser, percussionist Jo?o Caetano and guesting saxophonist Fraser Smith. Joe describes the project: "The idea behind the project was to create a soundtrack to a pool party in the 1960s. I spent some time watching films throughout the recent lockdowns which were inspired by this era." The album is mostly arrangements/interpretations from the 1950s-60s with songs from Elvis Presley, LaVern Baker, Georgie Fame, Mel Torm?, Erroll Garner, Freddie Green, Cannonball Adderley and The Clovers, as well as two original compositions by Joe. Joe explains further: "Even though it was difficult to write music during the past two years, I felt it was important to document this period in some way, especially with the musicians I had spent the most time with during this period". This is the third album that Joe will be releasing on Ubuntu Music: "I am really happy to be releasing this music with the ever-growing Ubuntu Music Family. It's lovely to have this album associated with many great friends and musicians."

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Tweedle Dee
      • 2. Comin' Home Baby
      • 3. You Are My Sunshine
      • 4. Yeah Yeah
      • 5. Money in The Pocket
      • 6. Catalan Jumper
      • 7. Errolesque
      • 8. Corner Pocket
      • 9. One Mint Julep
      • 10. I can't help Falling in Love with You