Play Me Backwards

Joan Baez

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 2CD

Cat No: PRPCD078

Release Date:  04 April 2011

Label:  Proper Records

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  805520030786

Genres:  Folk  

  • Description

    The new set in the Joan Baez re-issue programme, another 2 CD set with original album and a bonus disc of previously unreleased tracks.

    First released in 1992, Play Me Backwards holds a very special place in the rich 50-year recording history of Joan Baez. The album's sessions brought her back to Nashville for the first time since the series of four albums she had recorded in Music City between 1968 and 1971.

    Adding historic provenance to this reissue is a second disc containing previously unreleased demos of 10 songs which were contemplated by Joan and her producers, heard here for the first time.

    Full press and promotion will accompany this release.

    Joan reaffirmed her unique ability to identify and interpret successive generations of songwriters whose music had the ability to speak to her: Mary Chapin Carpenter ("Stones In the Road"), John Stewart ("Strange Rivers"), John Hiatt ("Through Your Hands"), the duo of Janis Ian and Buddy Mondlock ("Amsterdam"), and Ron Davies ("Steal Across the Border" and "The Dream Song," co-written with Joan). Play Me Backwards also contains four songs that Joan co-wrote with her two producers ("Play Me Backwards," "Isaac and Abraham," "I'm With You," and "Edge Of Glory."
    Some of the songwriters contributing to disc 2 are not widely known, such as the late Mark Heard ("Rise From the Ruins," "Lonely Moon"), or John Hadley ("The Last Day") or Gary Nicholson ("Trouble With the Truth"); and one writer is not known at all ("Medicine Wheel"). On the other hand, there are additional songs from Janis Ian ("We Endure") and Ron Davies ("Dark Eyed Man," originally recorded by Kevin Welch as "Dark Eyed Gal"). Fans will be immediately drawn to Joan's version of Bob Dylan's "Seven Curses."

    Also available: Bowery Songs (PRPCD029), Ring Them Bells (PRPCD031), Day After Tomorrow (PRPCD034), Gone From Danger (PRPCD0465).

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Play Me Backwards
      • 2. Amsterdam
      • 3. Isaac and Abraham
      • 4. Stones In The Road
      • 5. Steal Across The Border
      • 6. I'm With You
      • 7. I'm With You (Reprise)
      • 8. Strange Rivers
      • 9. Through Your Hands
      • 10. The Dream Song
      • 11. Edge of Glory

      Disc 2

      • 1. Medicine Wheel
      • 2. Rise From The Ruins
      • 3. Trouble With The Truth
      • 4. Much Better View Of The Moon
      • 5. Seven Curses
      • 6. In My Day
      • 7. Dark Eyed Moon
      • 8. We Endure
      • 9. The Last Day
      • 10. Lonely Moon