London Southern

Jim Lauderdale

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: PRPCD138

Release Date:  03 February 2017

Label:  Proper Records

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  805520031387

Genres:  Americana  Country  

  • Description

    Recorded in London at Goldtop studios and produced by Neil Brockbank and Robert Trehern, Jim Lauderdale's new album, London Southern features co-writes with Dan Penn, Joan Oates, Odie Blackmon and Kendell Marvell alongside six solo compositions and a host of celebrated guest musicians.

    Jim Lauderdale is both a 'songwriter's songwriter', who has written/co-written many modern classics for iconic artists, as well as an intuitive sideman who has enhanced the music of a bevy of esteemed musicians. As a solo artist, he has created a critically acclaimed body of work spanning nearly 30 albums of imaginative roots music.

    Throughout his three-decade career, Lauderdale has helped pave the way for the current Americana movement, recording albums and writing songs that cross genres from country, rock, folk and bluegrass. Jim has written many classic songs for iconic artists and worked with some of the finest performers in traditional and modern music, including Robert Hunter, Ralph Stanley, Elvis Costello, George Strait, Buddy Miller, Lucinda Williams, John Oates, Solomon Burke, Lee Ann Womack, Old Crow Medicine Show, Mary Chapin Carpenter, Blake Shelton, the Dixie Chicks, Vince Gill, Patty Loveless, and Gary Allan among many, many others. He co-hosts a weekly radio show on SiriusXM with Buddy Miller, "The Buddy & Jim Show," and is also co-host of Music City Roots, the weekly live and radio, podcast and PBS series.

    Jim has won two Grammys and been honoured with the SESAC Inspiration Award, the prestigious American Eagle Award from the National Music Council along with Kris Kristofferson and in 2016, the US Americana Music Association's Wagonmaster Award, a special lifetime achievement honour reserved for the most valuable contributors to the course and history of the format.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Sweet Time
      • 2. I Love You More
      • 3. We've Only Got So Much Time Here
      • 4. You Came to Get Me
      • 5. What Have You Got to Lose
      • 6. If I Can't Resist
      • 7. Don't Let Yourself Get in the Way
      • 8. No Right Way to Be Wrong
      • 9. Different Kind of Groove Some Time
      • 10. I Can't Do Without You
      • 11. Don't Shut Me Down
      • 12. This Is a Door