Jacob Young, Mats Eilertsen & Audun Kleive

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: 4883269

Release Date:  19 May 2023

Label:  ECM

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  602448832696

Genres:  Jazz  Contemporary  

  • Description

    Jacob Young's fourth leader-recording for ECM not only presents the guitarist's first pass a the guitar trio format, but moreover offers a broader view of his compositional pallet, as he, bassist Mats Eilertsen and drummer Audun Kleive explore a wide variety of pulsations, temperaments and styles, all tied together by Jacob's always melodic embrace.

    On his last effort, 2015's Forever Young, the guitarist was joined by Trygve Seim and the Marcin Wasilewski Trio, performing what The Guardian called, "a set full of undemonstrative surprises and contrasts", where "the quality of the composing matches the formidable powers of the band."

    Eventually continues that record's gentle lyricism, while Audun Kleive's percussive injections add counterpoint to Jacob's in turns balladic and more rhythmically overt elaborations, lending this set its sharp edge. Longtime partner Mats Eilertsen, who appeared on Jacob's label debut Evening Falls (2004) and Sideways (2007), contributes a confident foundation, simultaneously complementing and challenging his colleagues in a vivid, contemporary jazz programme.

    Jacob Young: guitar

    Mats Eilertsen: double bass

    Audun Kleive: drums

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Eventually
      • 2. I Told You In October
      • 3. Moon Over Meno
      • 4. One For Louis
      • 5. Schonstedtstrabe
      • 6. Northbound
      • 7. The Dog Ate My Homework
      • 8. The Meaning Of Joy
      • 9. Inside