Afric Pepperbird

Jan Garbarek Quartet

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: LP

Cat No: 4505317

Release Date:  01 March 2024

Label:  ECM

Packaging Type:  Gate Fold Vinyl

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  602445053179

Genres:  Jazz  Contemporary  

  • Description

    Luminessence, ECM's new audiophile vinyl-reissue series, is a kaleidoscope, shedding light on the jewels of the label's deep catalogue in elegant, high-quality editions - audiophile vinyl pressing, high-grade tip-on gatefold sleeves that include new liner notes. Recorded in Oslo in September 1970, Afric Pepperbird was released on New Year's Day in 1971. Half a century later, it still conveys the freshness and excitement of discoveries being made. The album signalled the arrival of four Norwegian improvisers - Jan Garbarek, Terje Rypdal, Arild Andersen and Jon Christensen - at the fledgling ECM label. It was the start of a lifelong association with each of the musicians, whose influence was soon to reach far beyond the borders of their homeland.

    In extended passages on Afric Pepperbird, with Christensen and Andersen stretching out, it's quite often Rypdal effectively holding the centre with taut chords. Everybody is roaring here, with Garbarek deep into his free jazz vocabulary. "Garbarek should be heard," wrote reviewer Joe Klee in DownBeat. "I would venture that not since Django Reinhardt has there been a European jazz musician so original and forward-looking as this young Norwegian."

    Jan Garbarek: saxophones
    Terje Rypdal: guitar
    Arild Andersen: bass
    Jon Christensen: drums

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Scarabee
      • 2. Mah-Jong
      • 3. Beast Of Kommodo

      Side 2

      • 1. Blow Away Zone
      • 2. MYB
      • 3. Concentus
      • 4. Afric Pepperbird
      • 5. Blupp