Time Is Ripe

Ian A Anderson

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: WEBE9045

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  22 February 2010

Label:  Weekend Beatnik

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  633236904523

Genres:  Folk  

  • Description

    First ever re-issue of early 1970s material. 'Psych folk' singer/ songwriter/ guitarist tracks made for the ultra-collectable Village Thing label, marking its 40th anniversary. In 1969, country blues singer/ guitarist Ian A. Anderson took a left swerve into what now gets called psych folk or acid folk – heavy, science-fiction and fantasy influenced songs and acoustic guitar instrumentals – releasing three albums on the cult 'alternative folk' label Village Thing. Four years later he returned to roots music, locking away the masters and refusing all pleas to let them out again until now. With 2010 marking the 40th anniversary of Village Thing, a spate of books on the music and the era, and high prices being paid for old vinyl copies, here's the pick of those VT years, remastered from the original tapes, with three previously unreleased tracks. Arrangements span from solo acoustic guitar to full blown band, recorded at legendary Rockfield studios with a line-up including drummer Pique Withers, who went on to power the original Dire Straits.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Time Is Ripe
      • 2. One More Chance
      • 3. Marie Celeste On Down
      • 4. Hey Space Pilot
      • 5. Mr Cornelius
      • 6. A Sign Of The Times
      • 7. Policeman's Ball
      • 8. The Western Wind
      • 9. Goblets & Elms (a)
      • 10. The Maker
      • 11. The Man In The High Castle
      • 12. The Last Conjuring
      • 13. Number 61
      • 14. Silent Night No.2
      • 15. The Survivor
      • 16. Shirley Temple Meets Hawkwind
      • 17. Hero
      • 18. The Worm
      • 19. Edges
      • 20. Paint It
      • . Black