The Essential Gretchen Peters

Gretchen Peters

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: PRPCD134

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  29 January 2016

Label:  Proper Records

Packaging Type:  Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  805520031349

Genres:  Americana  Country  

  • Description

    The Essential Gretchen Peters is a double album which includes both a retrospective of Peters' best work chosen from a 20 year recording career, and rarities never before released.

    Disc One features a handpicked selection of tracks from past releases, plus brand new recordings of two of Peters' best loved songs: "On A Bus To St. Cloud", and "When You Love Someone", here performed as a duet with cowriter Bryan Adams.

    Disc Two contains rare tracks, many never before released, which illuminate Peters' songwriting and recording journey since 1996, and will delight both the completist and the diehard fan. The early work tape for her song "Five Minutes"; a live, full band version of "Woman On The Wheel"; an unreleased performance of the Ben Bullington song "Ring Around The Moon", performed by Peters and husband/coproducer/pianist Barry Walsh; and an unreleased work tape of "Blackbirds", sung as a duet by cowriter Ben Glover are just a few of the highlights on Disc Two.

    With liner notes written by esteemed rock critic and Bruce Springsteen biographer Dave Marsh, The Essential Gretchen Peters is just that - an essential piece of work from a fearless and creative singer-songwriter.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Blackbirds
      • 2. The Aviator's Song
      • 3. The Secret Of Life
      • 4. If Heaven
      • 5. When All You Got Is A Hammer
      • 6. On A Bus To St. Cloud
      • 7. The Matador
      • 8. Sunday Morning (Up And Down My Street)
      • 9. Guadalupe (with Tom Russell)
      • 10. Hello Cruel World
      • 11. When You Love Someone (with Bryan Adams)
      • 12. Five Minutes
      • 13. When You Are Old

      Disc 2

      • 1. The Way You Move Me (Demo)
      • 2. Ring Around The Moon
      • 3. Pretty Things (Radio Edit)
      • 4. The Cruel Mother
      • 5. Woman On The Wheel (Live)
      • 6. When You Wish Upon A Star
      • 7. I Saw Your Light
      • 8. Love
      • 9. The Chill Of An Early Fall (Demo)
      • 10. Independence Day
      • 11. Wild Horses (wih Matraca Berg and Suzy Bogguss)
      • 12. The Answer (Work Tape)
      • 13. Blackbirds (with Ben Glover) (Work Tape)
      • 14. Five Minutes (Work Tape)