Nation Divided

George Colligan

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: WR4726

Format Details:

Release Date:  27 July 2018

Label:  Whirlwind Recordings

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  4055388386686

Genres:  Jazz  Contemporary  

  • Description

    In his first solo piano release for Whirlwind - 'Nation Divided' - George Colligan takes a lead from Duke Ellington's quoted notion that "this is not piano. This is dreaming".

    The Portland-based pianist and multi-instrumentalist is known for numerous sideman appearances on the bandstand with names such as Jack DeJohnette, Larry Grenadier, Don Byron, Cassandra Wilson, and can be found on over a hundred album recordings (including 2017's 'More Powerful' - WR4708). But, as he elucidates, this is different: "After a lot of trio and ensemble records, I wanted to get back to the piano to clear the air and represent my thoughts again in solitude. The whole session was captured in a single day by respected pianist David Goldblatt in his basement studio".

    Finding a correlation between the written and the spontaneous, some of Colligan's pieces are fully improvised, others through-composed, or they combine elements of both. "I love Ellington's idea that it doesn't matter what it is - it's just dreaming", he explains. I like to let things happen, but on 'the road less travelled' rather than the familiar; and in musical conversations with myself, I can take as many risks as I wish.

    A recurrent restlessness in Colligan's thirteen originals is validated by provocatively-named title track 'Nation Divided', its two different keys and motifs agitatedly attempting to link up but never quite making it. "I often examine my own thoughts and would love to see things from someone else's viewpoint. But while socio-political divisions throughout the United States (and globally) are nothing new, it seems that politicians, the media and talk radio, for example, are motivating current extremes of polarization".

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Wounds Of Another Time
      • 2. Closure
      • 3. Bewteen Two Worlds
      • 4. Street Fight
      • 5. Blues For Charleston
      • 6. Nights Of Passion
      • 7. The Strength To Move On
      • 8. Nation Divided
      • 9. Prelude
      • 10. If That's All There Is To Say
      • 11. Cognac Logic
      • 12. Sentimental Foolishness
      • 13. Saddest Of All Keys