Geoff Eales

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: FUZ008

Release Date:  01 April 2016

Label:  Fuzzy Moon Records

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5065001308062

Genres:  Jazz  Contemporary  

  • Description

    Fuzzy Moon Records is proud to announce the release of Geoff Eales' 13th album, Transience. The album features Geoff alongside four other masters of contemporary jazz: Brigitte Beraha, Noel Langley, Chris Laurence and Martin France. Of this intensely personal album Geoff writes: "Recorded seven months after my mother's passing, my intense sense of loss has very much informed the emotional landscape of the music. Losing a loved-one makes one realise just how precious, fragile and transient life is, Furthermore, in the last year or so we have lost so many musical luminaries, none more brilliant than those two beacons of infinite light - Kenny Wheeler and John Taylor. This has brought the sentiments of this album into even greater focus for me" For this project Eales invited Laurence and France to be his rhythm section partners for the second time. It was this collaboration that proved so effective on their 2009 CD "Master of the Game" on Edition Records. Where this album differs from all Eales' previous albums is the inclusion of a voice in the line-up. Beraha was carefully selected for her exceptional skills as both a wordless improviser and a wonderful interpreter of lyrics. Like Norma Winstone, she has the knack of using her voice like an instrument that blends perfectly within the ensemble rather than dominating it. Indeed, the melding of Beraha's voice with Langley's flugel horn is a defining feature of the album. Trumpet virtuoso Langley has never disguised his love for the legend that is Kenny Wheeler. This becomes abundantly clear when you listen to his remarkable performance on the extended composition. "Remembering Kenny". However, Langley pays his respects in his own way and should not be seen as an attempt to copy Wheeler. The 12 contrasting pieces flow into each other seamlessly like a series of scenes from a movie. Geoff Eales' life in music has been incredibly rich and varied. He is the master of many genres but his greatest passion is jazz and improvised music. It is within these disciplines that the full extent of his imagination is revealed. After being awarded a Ph.D in music at Cardiff University in 1980 Geoff turned his back on academia in order to pursue a career as a London studio musician. However, as the new Millennium approached, he felt an inner need to return to the music that inspired him in his youth - jazz. During the last fifteen years Geoff has released twelve highly acclaimed albums and during the course of his jazz renaissance Geoff has performed at many prestigious venues worldwide including New York's Birdland, The Jazz Bakery in Los Angeles, the Blue Note Clubs of Japan, London's Queen Elizabeth Hall, Purcell Room and Ronnie Scott's as well as jazz festivals such Zagreb, Belgrade, Cork and Brecon.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Sleep Eternal
      • 2. Life Dance
      • 3. Atonement
      • 4. Translucence
      • 5. We All Must Change
      • 6. Quirk of Fate
      • 7. Gently Into the Night
      • 8. The Dark Glass
      • 9. If Only
      • 10. Nocturne
      • 11. Remembering Kenny
      • 12. Celestial Vision