Geoff Eales

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: 33XTREME021

Release Date:  08 October 2021

Label:  33Xtreme

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5020883339214

Genres:  Jazz  Contemporary  

  • Description

    To mark his 70th birthday, 33Xtreme is proud to release a new solo piano album by the inspirational Welsh pianist/composer Geoff Eales. Memoir is inspired by the memory of those special people and places that have informed the musician's highly colourful and multifaceted life. His rollercoaster journey has been a smorgasbord of wondrous experiences, and this is reflected in the eclectic nature of the music with flamenco, folk, oriental exoticism, swing, blues, groove, jazz ballad, Indian raga, avant-garde, classical minimalism and Rachmaninoff-inspired improvisation all playing their part in this collection. In recent years Eales has increasingly turned towards poetry to express his innermost thoughts and so it only seemed natural for him to include a few poems to enhance the music's meaning with readings by Ray Roughler Jones on three of the 12 tracks.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Andalucian Affair
      • 2. Celtic Roots
      • 3. Mardi Gras
      • 4. The Children Of Nagasaki
      • 5. Blues At The Moon
      • 6. Grace
      • 7. Yarrumbwa
      • 8. Little Girls Blue
      • 9. Biscay Dipper
      • 10. Mumbai Memory
      • 11. Swirling
      • 12. I Will Never Ever Know