Insanity And Genius

Gamma Ray

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: 0219700EMU

Release Date:  21 June 2024

Label:  Ear Music

Packaging Type:  Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  4029759197003

Genres:  Rock  

  • Description

    Gamma Ray's third studio album "Insanity & Genius", originally released in 1993, presented the band from an even tougher and more experimental side than their 1991 predecessor release "Sigh No More" had done.

    Kai Hansen himself calls the recording "unusually colourful and experimental". With that, the Gamma Ray founder is referring to the title track, the occasionally spacey, rocking sound on 'The Cave Principle', and 'Heal Me' with its cabaret-like arrangement. By contrast, there are also typical Gamma Ray numbers such as 'Tribute To The Past' and 'Last Before The Storm'.

    The 2016 anniversary re-release of "Insanity & Genius" includes, along with the eleven original tracks remastered by producer/sound engineer Eike Freese, additional demo material of 'Money ', 'The Silence' and 'Sail On', an extended version of 'Gamma Ray' and a rough mix of 'Space Eater', plus the Judas Priest cover 'Exciter ' as well as live interpretations of 'Valley Of The Kings' and 'Heaven Can Wait', which were recorded 2016 at the Chameleon Studios in Hamburg, Germany.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Tribute To The Past
      • 2. No Return
      • 3. Last Before The Storm
      • 4. The Cave Principle
      • 5. Future Madhouse
      • 6. Gamma Ray
      • 7. Insanity And Genius
      • 8. 18 Years
      • 9. Your Torn Is Over
      • 10. Heal Me
      • 11. Brothers

      Disc 2

      • 1. Valley Of The Kings (Live At Chameleon Studios 2016)
      • 2. Heaven Can Wait (Live At Chameleon Studios 2016)
      • 3. Gamma Ray (Extended Version)
      • 4. Money (Demo with Ralf Scheepers)
      • 5. Silence (Demo with Ralf Scheepers)
      • 6. Sail On (Demo with Ralf Scheepers)
      • 7. Space Eater (Rough Mix Horus studio)
      • 8. Exciter (Judas Priest Cover)