Classics And Boogie - The Original Recordings

Freddy Martin & His Orchestra

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: JASMCD2554

Format Details:

Release Date:  01 November 1999

Label:  Jasmine Records

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  604988255423

Genres:  Easy Listening  

  • Description

    Because the piano featured so prominently in many of Freddy Martin's recordings, it was often thought he was the soloist; in fact, his chosen instrument was the tenor sax and it was the selling of musical instruments, mainly the saxophone family, that led him to a career as a professional musician. He was born on 9th December, 1909, in Cleveland, Ohio, and grew up in a Springfield, Ohio, orphanage following the death of his parents when he was only four. At the age of 16 he returned to Cleveland and lived with relatives while attending high school. To help pay for his keep, he sold musical instruments in his spare time, at the same time learning to play the tenor saxophone. After graduation he played with several bands before forming his own group in 1931. His first engagement at the Bossert Hotel in New York lasted until 1934 and was followed by several other stints at hotels in the Manhattan area.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. The Hut-Sut Song (A Swedish Serenade)
      • 2. Easy To Love
      • 3. Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No.1 In B Flat
      • 4. Serenade For Strings
      • 5. Jingle, Jangle, Jingle
      • 6. The Warsaw Concerto
      • 7. Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No.2
      • 8. Symphony
      • 9. In The Middle Of May
      • 10. Cornish Rhapsody Theme
      • 11. Bumble Boogie
      • 12. To Each His Own
      • 13. Night And Day
      • 14. Managua, Nicaragua
      • 15. Cumana
      • 16. Hora Stacato
      • 17. Miserlou
      • 18. On A Slow Boat To China
      • 19. Jungle Rhumba
      • 20. Sabre Dance Boogie
      • 21. Shangri-La
      • 22. Czardas