Spirit & The Blues

Eric Bibb & The Needed Time

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 2LP

Cat No: OPUS3LP19401

Release Date:  27 November 2006

Label:  Opus 3

Packaging Type:  Gate Fold Vinyl

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  7392420894011

Genres:  Blues  

  • Description

    'Spirit & The Blues' is a real odyssey of Eric Bibb's music. Here we find everything from black Mississippi blues to spirituals, ballads, country and even reggae - sometimes with an almost electrified swing, but guaranteed unplugged in the finest Opus 3 tradition!

    In response to many requests over the years since the release of Eric Bibb's breakthrough album 'Spirit & The Blues' Opus 3 are pleased to make this available on LP. Since the complete CD is too long to be accommodate on a regular LP (33 1/3) it was necessary produce a double LP, which in turn meant that advantage could be taken of the use of 45rpm. The main advantages of this are that it is possible to increase the cutting level thus reducing in relative terms the noise of the record. In addition the increased speed of rotation of the record gives improved high-frequency performance which is of particularly significance especially in the later parts of the record as the circumference progressively reduces.

    Opus 3 would also like to draw attention to the following: A cutting lathe requires two signals, one feeding the cutter head and the other which gives information in advance to enable the grooves to be packed in the best possible way without impinging on adjacent grooves. For this purpose a special tape recorder is required with one "preview" head for the spacing of the grooves and one audio head which feeds the cutter. Between the heads the tape makes a special loop which provides the required delay. Because these very special tape recorders are becoming increasingly rare, many cutting studios have resorted to incorporating a digital delay in the signal path in order to use an ordinary tape recorder. This means that the audio signal in the record-groove has first been A/D converted, i.e. digitalized, then digitally delayed then D/A converted back to analogue. Such a vinyl record is therefore not truly analogue. Needless to say, 'Spirit & The Blues' is of course mastered in the old authentic way and are thus analogue all the way.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Lonesome Valley
      • 2. In My Fathers House
      • 3. Needed Time
      • 4. I Am Blessed
      • 5. Just Keep Goin' On
      • 6. Where Shall I Be
      • 7. Woke Up This Mornin'
      • 8. I Want Jesus To Walk With Me

      Disc 2

      • 1. You're Gonna Need Somebody On Your Bond
      • 2. Braggin'
      • 3. Water Under The Bridge
      • 4. Tell Ol' Bill
      • 5. Satisfied Mind
      • 6. Meetin' At The Buildin'
      • 7. Waltz