Bela Bartok: Hungarian Pictures, Concerto For Orchestra

Concerto Budapest, Andras Keller

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: SACD


Release Date:  30 June 2023

Label:  Tacet

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  4009850026242

Genres:  Classical  

  • Description

    This recording (like the entire TACET catalogue) not only captivates on first listen, but invites you to savor countless small details, each twist a treasure that Andras Keller and the musicians of Concerto Budapest bring out as knowledgeably as they do lovingly.

    "They (Bartok and Kodaly) wanted not only to put the Hungarian into the light, not to serve a mere colony of German music history, but to study folk music in all its manifestations, moreover to serve the fraternization of peoples. Later they explicitly aimed at "a synthesis of East and West". This very turn from the Hungarian to the global is nowhere more evident than in one of the last works, the Concerto for Orchestra, which outwardly echoes the Hungarian Pictures as they do the early period of folk music research..." (from the liner notes by Jan Reichow)

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Hungarian Pictures. I. An evening in the village. Lento rubato - Allegro
      • 2. Hungarian Pictures. II. Bear dance. Allegro vivace
      • 3. Hungarian Pictures. III. Melody. Andante
      • 4. Hungarian Pictures. IV. Slightly tipsy. Allegretto rubato
      • 5. Hungarian Pictures. V. Swineherd's dance. Allegro molto
      • 6. Concerto for Orchestra. I. Introduzione. Andante non troppo - Allegro vivace
      • 7. Concerto for Orchestra. II. Giuoco delle coppie. Allegro scherzando
      • 8. Concerto for Orchestra. III. Elegia. Andante
      • 9. Concerto for Orchestra. IV. Intermezzo interrotto. Allegretto
      • 10. Concerto for Orchestra. V. Finale. Presto