Loudmouthed Beauty

Clare Farr (Bass Trombone)

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: LWC1242

Release Date:  26 August 2022

Label:  Lawo

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  7090020182643

Genres:  Classical  Classical  

  • Description

    Despite its loudmouthed reputation, there is so much beauty in the bass trombone - the aim of this album is to showcase all the best sides of the bass trombone: robust yet fragile, colourful and flexible, juicy bass notes and beautiful melodies.

    "By commissioning and playing new works and allying myself with great friends on trombone, organ, harp and piano, I have attempted to give new colour to the bass trombone repertoire. I hope the album can be of inspiration for many future bass trombone recitals."

    – Clare Farr

    "Clare Farr does her instrument great service in bringing this programme together. I defy anyone not to find Jan Sandstrom's Sang till Lotta for trombone and harp incredibly sweet and beautiful. Bente Leiknes Thorsen's Lush Darkness is a great showcase for the instrument." – BBC Music Magazine (4 STARS)

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Bente Leiknes Thorsen: Lush Darkness – Glaring Light (because The Loudmouthed Forgot The Beauty Of A Simple Tone)
      • 2. Ernst Sachse: Concerto In F Major: I. Allegro Maestoso
      • 3. II. Andante (adagio)
      • 4. III. Theme And Variations
      • 5. Henri Tomasi: Être Ou Ne Pas être
      • 6. Torstein Aagaard-Nilsen: The Daughters Of Erda: Urd
      • 7. Skuld
      • 8. Verdande
      • 9. Jan Sandström: SÃ¥ng Till Lotta
      • 10. Charles Small: Conversation
      • 11. Alexej Lebedjew: Concerto No. 1