Splish Splash!

Charlie Drake

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: JASMCD2778

Release Date:  05 May 2023

Label:  Jasmine Records

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  604988277821

Genres:  Easy Listening  

  • Description

    Perhaps the most remarkable thing about Charlie Drake's brief singing career is that he didn't cut more records. The minuscule comedian (described by one critic as looking like "A Botticelli cherub") could certainly sing, surprisingly well, and his releases were radio-friendly and popular.

    After making the UK Top 10 with his debut 45, a cover of Bobby Darin's 'Splish Splash', he notched up further hits with covers of 'Volare' and Larry Verne's US hit 'Mr Custer', plus his own irresistibly absurd 'My Boomerang Won't Come Back', which became his signature song.

    The latter enjoyed considerable international success, making the US Top 40, reaching #2 in Canada, and topping the charts in Australia.

    This compilation is made up of Charlie's first ten 45rpm releases, recorded between 1958-62, and features all his major hits including the controversial American edit of 'My Boomerang Won't Come Back', with its notoriously clumsy overdub.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Splish Splash
      • 2. Hello My Darlings
      • 3. Volare
      • 4. Itchy Twitchy Feeling
      • 5. Tom Thumb's Tune
      • 6. Goggle Eye Ghee
      • 7. Sea Cruise
      • 8. Starkle, Starkle Little Twink
      • 9. Naughty
      • 10. Old Mr Shadow
      • 11. Mr. Custer
      • 12. Glow Worm
      • 13. My Boomerang Won't Come Back (Original Version)
      • 14. She's My Girl
      • 15. My Boomerang Won't Come Back (U.S. Edit)
      • 16. Tanglefoot
      • 17. Drake's Progress
      • 18. I Bent My Assegai
      • 19. Sweet Freddy Green
      • 20. I've Lost The End Of My Yodel
      • 21. I Can Cry Can't I