Sway: The Best Of Carla Olson & Mick Taylor

Carla Olson & Mick Taylor

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: LP

Cat No: LPSBR79902LE

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  05 February 2021

Label:  Sunset Blvd Records

Packaging Type:  Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  708535799023

Genres:  Rock  Pop  

Release Date:  29 April 2022

Label:  Sunset Blvd Records

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  708535701620

Genres:  Rock  Pop  

  • Description

    Limited Edition - 2000 units.

    In 1988 former ROLLING STONES guitarist Mick Taylor began what was to be a significant series of collaborations with L.A. based Carla Olson, first with their "Live at the Roxy" album Too Hot For Snakes, the centrepiece of which is an extended seven-minute performance of 'Sway' included on this album. It was followed by Olson's Within An Ace, which featured Taylor on seven songs. He appeared on three songs from Reap The Whirlwind and then again on Olson's The Ring of Truth, on which he plays lead guitar on nine tracks, including a twelve-minute version of the song "Winter". This is the best of their collaborations. Including the tracks, "Sway," "See The Light," "Within An Ace," "Loserville," "See The Light," and "Justice."


    1. Sway (Live At The Roxy Theatre)/
    2. See The Light (Live At The Roxy Theatre)/
    3. Sway/Mick Taylor Guitar Solo (Live At Slim's)/
    4. Justice (From The Album Within An Ace)/
    5. Within An Ace (From The Album Within An Ace)/
    6. Kinderwars (From The Album Reap The Whirlwind)/
    7. Loserville (From The Album Ring Of Truth)


    2 CD Set / 5 Previously Unreleased Tracks: Pair all-time great blues-rock guitarist Mick Taylor with roots-rock chanteuse Carla Olson, throw in band members like Ian McLagan (ex-Faces), Barry Goldberg (ex-Electric Flag) and harmonica whiz John Luke Logan, and you had one explosive combo. This deluxe reissue expands their 1990 live at the Roxy album with a number of tracks from Carla's various studio albums, all of 'em featuring Mick and all of 'em long out-of-print. We even unearthed an unreleased cut, an alternate version of 'Winter' that's over twice as long as the Rolling Stones' version on 'Goat s Head Soup' with much Mick guitar solo magic, and the rare, Japan-only track 'You Gotta Move' to up the temperature. And Stones fans wait 'til you hear the 7- minute version of 'Sway' (the original on Sticky Fingers faded out at 3:50 just when Mick was taking off)!

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Never Wanted To Try
      • 2. Remember That Moon
      • 3. Who Put The Sting On The Honeybee
      • 4. Slow Rollin’ Train
      • 5. Trying To Hold On
      • 6. Rubies & Diamonds
      • 7. See The Light
      • 8. You Can’t Move In
      • 9. Broken Hands
      • 10. Sway
      • 11. Hartley Quits
      • 12. Midnight Mission
      • 13. Silver Train
      • 14. Remember That Moon (Previously Unreleased)
      • 15. Rubies & Diamonds (Previously Unreleased)
      • 16. See The Light (Previously Unreleased)
      • 17. Sway (Previously Unreleased)
      • 18. You Gotta Move
      • 19. Justice
      • 20. Within An Ace
      • 21. The Ring Of Truth
      • 22. Winter (Previously Unreleased)
      • 23. Ventilator Blues
      • 24. Think I’m Goin’ Mad
      • 25. Sway