Swimming In Mercury

Boo Hewerdine

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD


Release Date:  28 April 2017

Label:  Reveal Records

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  0713179439372

Genres:  Folk  Singer Songwriter  

  • Description

    Boo Hewerdine's first new studio album in eight years. 'Swimming In Mercury' will be released by Reveal Records on April 28th 2017, 12 new songs including the radio single "Satellite Town". "One of the country's most consistently admired songwriters' Folk Radio UK "Simple, poetic reflections on life and love" The Guardian Boo Hewerdine is well known as one of the greatest songwriter performers in the business, but incredibly, it's been 8 years since Boo released his last studio album of original material God Bless The Pretty Things (Reveal Records 2009). Not that Hewerdine has been inactive, far from it, the period has been the most productive of his career. Boo wrote Radio Ballads for the BBC's Olympic and recent Child Migration series. There has been a huge array of writing and producing with both established and upcoming artists and 'passing something on' to budding writers via his much loved song-writing workshops. Boo spent three years writing a daily blog which lead to podcast fun with that staff of The WORD (RIP) and invitations to join Radio broadcasts such as The Verb (BBC Radio 3) and a moment of personal satisfaction when his work was included in the radio round up Pick Of The Week on BBC Radio 4. Boo formed the duo State Of The Union with American guitarist Brooks Williams and recorded and released two albums and an EP, live in the studio with engineer Mark Freegard, the duo appeared on BBC1 TV Andrew Marr show performing their cover of Pet Shop Boys Rent. Hewerdine has written lyrics and played on over 30 new recordings by and with other artists during the period including the acclaimed 2014 album (Vagabond) and 2015 EP (Back The Dogs) with Scottish singer Eddi Reader, Last Man Standing Ep (2015) with Kris Drever of Lau and Duke Special. Reveal Records compiled the first document of his career to date with a fine Best of compilation "My Name In Brackets" and swiftly followed that with an album of lost recordings found in a box!  This album was Open which received five star reviews and was number 5 in the Telegraph Albums of The Year 2015 . There wasn't a moment when Boo Hewerdine has not been working on something creative. His every day continues to be full of music and he waited patiently to tell some older personal stories that feature on his new album Swimming In Mercury. Mid-way through 2016, the first of his new material emerged via the limited edition Born EP, then in Autumn 2016 Boo played songs from Swimming in Mercury live on BBC TV's Quay Sessions (re-broadcast in January 2017).

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Satellite Town
      • 2. A Letter To My Younger Self
      • 3. My First Band
      • 4. American TV
      • 5. Sleep
      • 6. Gemini
      • 7. The Boy Who Never Cried Wolf
      • 8. The Year That I Was Born
      • 9. Drinking Alone
      • 10. An Atheist In A Foxhole
      • 11. Voice Behind The Curtain
      • 12. Swimming In Mercury