God Bless The Pretty Things

Boo Hewerdine

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD


Release Date:  26 October 2009

Label:  Navigator Records

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5060169470224

Genres:  Folk  

  • Description

    Boo Hewerdine is widely regarded as a songwriting legend, an artist with a musical C.V of international collaborations and hit songs that stretch over two decades and many genres.

    'In the two decades or so since he first emerged with The Bible, Boo Hewerdine has become one of the movers and shakers in song-writing and production; his name anywhere on an album being a mark of quality' -- R2 / Rock n Reel

    New album "God Bless The Pretty Things" is his first band album in almost a decade. Recorded in Glasgow during the spring of 2009, Boo is joined by a wealth of fantastic musicians: Justin Currie (Del Amitri) Berlin based multi instrumentalist Gustaf Ljunngren, Ewen Vernal,Roy Dodds, Kevin McGuire and Alan Kelly (all from Eddi Readers band) and label mates John McCusker and Heidi Talbot.

    'Hewerdine's music has a vigour and zest of its own. GOD BLESS THE PRETTY THINGS amounts to his recorded masterpiece so far' --Maverick Magazine

    He says: "I thought of these songs as a suite. There is a song called "God bless the pretty things" I have yet to record. It's about how the chance to create beauty is the ultimate sign of freedom. This was in the back of mind during the writing and recording of the album. I chose songs that seemed to reflect this, with the previous acoustic EP series (Toy Box ) I was interested in storytelling. This time even when I'm telling a story I'm trying to find an atmosphere"

    'Boo emotionally pulls the rug from under you and leaves you speechless - gotta be "best of the year 2009' -- Net Rhythms.co.uk

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Geography
      • 2. Muddy Water
      • 3. Sleeping Lions
      • 4. New Year's Eve
      • 5. Rags
      • 6. It's A Beautiful Night
      • 7. In Paris After The War
      • 8. Soul Mate
      • 9. Silver Wings
      • 10. I Almost Said Goodbye
      • 11. You And Me