The House Of Mercy

Bex Marshall

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: HOM002

Format Details:

Release Date:  17 September 2012

Label:  House Of Mercy

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5052442002154

Genres:  Blues  Americana  

  • Description

    'The House of Mercy' showcases the many talents of British blueser Bex Marshall - lead vocals, guitar and writer and producer of all eleven tracks. In the company of a stellar mix of US and local blues and Americana talent, Blues meets Gospel and Bluegrass with an exciting British twist.

    With comparisons to Memphis Minnie, Joan Armatrading, JJ Cale, Derek Trucks and "Bonnie Raitt and Led Zep jamming in an everglade moonshine joint", Bex's writing has been called timeless, with touches of genius.

    There are guest appearances from the legendary Dobro player BJ Cole, Hayseed Dixie band members Don Wayne Reno (banjo), Dale Reno (mandolin) & Jake Byers (acoustic bass), harmonica wizard Steve Lockwood, fiddle queen Eileen Healy and Nashville blues sweetheart Brigitte De Meyer as well as the new blues lovin' line up with gospel singer Shola Adegoraye, Keyboard hero Toby Baker, stand up bass god Barry Payne, voodoo percussionist Danny Bryan and drum funkster Crispin Taylor.

    In spite of all that talent, Neil Spencer in his Uncut review states that "Marshall's powerhouse persona dominates, winningly … she does down'n'dirty blues on "Gone Fishin'", evokes Janis Joplin on the sparse "Bite Me", goes acoustic for the tender "Barry's Song" and contributes tasty slide and Knopfleresque runs throughout."

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. House of Mercy
      • 2. Love
      • 3. Bite Me
      • 4. Gone Fishin
      • 5. Rent My Room
      • 6. Rattlesnake
      • 7. Tough Times
      • 8. Big Man
      • 9. Bourbon Street
      • 10. Barrys Song
      • 11. Guilty