Betty Buckley

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: PM2174

Release Date:  29 September 2014

Label:  Palmetto Records

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  753957217426

Genres:  Pop  Cabaret  

  • Description

    Betty Buckley's album 'Ghostlight' re-unites her with longtime friend and producer T Bone Burnett. Buckley, who has been called "The Voice of Broadway", is one of theatre's most respected and legendary leading ladies.

    When Buckley and Burnett were both 19 years old, living in Fort Worth, TX, they began making music together. Burnett's highly sought after involvement in music, film, TV and stage projects is marked by his uncanny ability to successfully combine his unique artistic sensibilities with massive commercial appeal. These two friends and creative geniuses created an atmosphere that takes us to another time and place.

    "All great art comes from the edge, not a place of comfort," commented Burnett. "Our vision was for a ghostly haunting sound, which I called 'crime jazz,' giving the project a timeless feel."

    The title of the recording comes from the tradition in the theatre where, after the performance in the dark theatre, a lone light bulb is left on at night to keep the ghosts company. This light is called a ghost light. The recording of 'Ghostlight' was made at the legendary Village Studios in Los Angeles.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Come To Me Bend To Me
      • 2. If You Go Away
      • 3. Blue Skies
      • 4. Throw It Away
      • 5. Lazy Afternoon
      • 6. Bewitched
      • 7. This Nearly Was Mine
      • 8. Body And Soul
      • 9. Comin Back To Me
      • 10. Dreamsville
      • 11. Take It With Me When I Go
      • 12. Where Time Stands Still