Alison Burns & Martin Taylor

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: P3MCD017

Format Details:

Release Date:  29 March 2010

Label:  P3 Music

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  827775001021

Genres:  Jazz  Vocal Jazz  

  • Description

    When multi-award winning guitarist Martin Taylor, who has collaborated with great singers including Peggy Lee, Jamie Cullum, Dionne Warwick and Bryn Terfel, chose to record a special duo album with a vocalist he chose the UK's fastest rising jazz singer Alison Burns. Produced by legendary record producer Tony Platt (Bob Marley, The Who, The Rolling Stones, Buddy Guy), the album takes inspiration from the Grammy award winning collaboration between Joe Pass & Ella Fitzgerald, mixing repertoire from The Great American Songbook and contemporary material from Stevie Wonder and James Taylor. Award winning guitarist Martin Taylor has established a unique musical career and his inimitable style has seen him recognised as the world's foremost exponent of solo jazz guitar playing. He recently received the prestigious BBC Radio 2 Heart of Jazz Award, presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award from the North Wales Jazz Guitar Festival and voted Best Guitarist in the British Jazz Awards for a record eleventh time. Surrounded by the surfeit of little girl voices prevalent in jazz today, it's almost a relief to encounter a mature but flexible voice like Alison Burns. Declared high profile fans include Michael Parkinson and Sir Terence Conran while her debut album Kissing Bug was met with rave reviews. From festival and theatre stages to small, intimate venues, Alison Burns never fails to touch the audience with her soul-stirring performances.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Again
      • 2. Because Of You
      • 3. He's A Tramp
      • 4. Sophisticated Lady
      • 5. The Man That Got Away
      • 6. Do You Love Me?
      • 7. I Haven't Got Anything Better To Do
      • 8. Drop Me A Line
      • 9. True
      • 10. How Long Has This Been Going On?
      • 11. If I Keep My Heart Out Of Sight
      • 12. If It's Magic
      • 13. No One Ever Tells You
      • 14. I'm Confessin'