Starring Al Hibbler / Here's Hibbler!

Al Hibbler

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: JASCD605

Format Details:

Release Date:  01 July 1996

Label:  Jasmine Records

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  604988060522

Genres:  Jazz  

  • Description

    There is something magical and thoroughly original in the singing style of Al Hibbler. To put into words what happens exactly when he opens his wonderful pipes is difficult at best. His unique phrasing, his octave slides, his foggy, deep-throated quality, taken separately, might spell a limited performer. But add them up, together with Hibbler's highly personalised interpretation of a song - and what it says - and you have what is without question one of the most convincingly soulful, compelling voices in today's musical world. Duke Ellington, an intellectual man with a gift for an occasional phrase, was so sold on what he called Hibbler's "tonal pantomime" that he featured him as his band singer for eight years.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. After The Lights Go Down Low
      • 2. I Don't Stand A Ghost Of A Chance With You
      • 3. You'll Never Know
      • 4. Night And Day
      • 5. Pennies From Heaven
      • 6. Shanghai Lil
      • 7. Steela By Starlight
      • 8. September In The Rain
      • 9. Where Are You
      • 10. Count Every Star
      • 11. There Are Such Things
      • 12. Where Or When
      • 13. Trees
      • 14. Sweet Slumber
      • 15. Do Nothin' Till You Hear From Me
      • 16. The Very Thought Of Your
      • 17. On A Slow Boat To China
      • 18. Because Of You
      • 19. What Would People Say
      • 20. Just A Kid Named Joe
      • 21. I Hadn't Anyone Till You
      • 22. I'll Get Along Somehow
      • 23. It's Been A Long Time
      • 24. The Town Crier