Albert's Blues & The 44 Gerard Street Session

Albert Nicholas

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: SGCCD7703

Format Details:

Release Date:  10 September 2021

Label:  Cadillac Records

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5020675000216

Genres:  Jazz  Early Jazz  

  • Description

    This is a reissue of an original album on Doug Dobell's legendary 77 label, based at the famous Charing Cross Road Record Shop. Albert Nicholas was a favourite of Doug and John Jack, Cadillac founder, and one of the great jazz originators - he played with Jelly Roll Morton and others before settling in Europe.

    This release includes unissued material, and a complete live session, never before released, recorded on acetate by Doug, of Albert and the Humphrey Lyttelton Band playing at an all night dive in London's China Town in the 50s. Includes newly commissioned artwork and unseen photos. One for the collector and music lover!


    "What with detailed notes, good sound, and distinctive graphics, this has to be one of the reissues of the year." - **** Peter Vacher, Jazzwise Magazine, Oct 2021

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Salee Dame
      • 2. Rose Room
      • 3. Albert's Blues
      • 4. Wolverine Blues
      • 5. It Had To Be You
      • 6. Jazz Me Blues
      • 7. Sweet Substitute
      • 8. China Boy
      • 9. Endie
      • 10. Shine
      • 11. Jazz Me Blues Alternate take
      • 12. Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams Unissued take
      • 13. Ain't Misbehaving
      • 14. Royal Garden Blues
      • 15. Indiana
      • 16. I Found a New Baby
      • 17. Rose Room
      • 18. High Society

Liquid error (sections/featured-collection-pmc-genre line 91): comparison of String with 1 failed