De La Lumiere Aux Etoiles

Aaron Tan

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: ACD22872

Release Date:  27 October 2023

Label:  Atma Classique

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  722056287227

Genres:  Classical  Solo Instrumental  

  • Description

    Performed on the Casavant Organ, opus 796 (1919) Basilica of Our Lady Immaculate Guelph in Ontario, Aaron Tan is the first prize winner of the CIOC (Canadian International Organ Competition 2021). Additionally, he is the only person who, in addition to having won the CIOC in 2021, was among the winners of two other major organ competitions in North America: the CRCO National Organ Competition and the AGO National Competition for Young Artists (NYACOP).

    For his debut album, the CIOC First Prize winner chose works by Fernando Germani, Percy Whitlock, Sigfrid Karg-Elert, Jeanne Demessieux, Rachel Laurin, Henri Duparc (in a transcription by Aaron Tan) and Louis Vierne, performed on the Casavant Opus 796 organ at Our Lady Immaculate Basilica in Guelph, Ontario. Tan is currently pursuing doctoral studies at Eastman School of Music in Rochester NY, and also serves as Organist and Director of Music at St. Alban's Catholic Church (Ordinariate in Rochester, NY). He recently received his Master of Music and Master of Musical Arts from Yale University. As a scientist, Aaron holds a Ph.D. in Materials Science from the University of Michigan and worked there as a postdoctoral researcher after earning his degree, studying polymer thin films.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Fernando Germani: Toccata for Organ, Op. 12
      • 2. Percy Whitlock: Two Fantasie Chorals
      • 3. Sigfrid Karg-Elert: Cathedral Windows, Op. 106 II. Ave Maria
      • 4. Jeanne Demessieux: Sept Meditations sur le Saint Esprit, Op. 6
      • 5. Sigfrid Karg-Elert: Fantasy and Fugue for Organ in D major
      • 6. Rachel Laurin: Poeme symphonique pour le temps de l'Avent, Op. 69
      • 7. Henri Duparc (Arr. Tan): "Aux etoiles"
      • 8. Louis Vierne: Symphonie No. 5, Op. 47 V. Final