Ashore 2LP (Rsd 2018)

June Tabor

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 2LP

Cat No: VIN180LP133

Release Date:  21 April 2018

Label:  Weatherbox

Packaging Type:  Gate Fold Vinyl

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  5038622138813

Genres:  Folk  English Folk  

  • Description

    For the very first time on vinyl this 180g WHITE vinyl double LP exclusive for Record Store Day, comes packaged as a 2LP set in a gatefold sleeve with full colour inner bags.

    June Tabor is without doubt 'one of the greats' of the British folk scene. Her recording career has consistently reached ever greater heights of performance and interpretation. Each of her albums consistently reaches the highest technical standard with her emotionally powerful performances and scintillating musical arrangements.

    Ashore is a collection of songs concerning humankind's relationship with the sea and on release the album was hailed by critics and fans alike as another career highpoint.

    "It's 35 years since June Tabor's debut album, but this has to be among her best." - THE TIMES

    "A thing of compelling beauty, and stands head and shoulders above most folk albums you're likely to hear this year… Pure class." - ENGLISH DANCE & SONG

    "This deeply affecting collection of sea stories demonstrates the core of her art almost to perfection." - MOJO

    "June Tabor has always resolutely pursued her own heart without recourse to the conformities of genre, expectations of audiences and especially not the pressures of orthodox commercial appeal." - COLIN IRWIN

    Junes range and depth are unparalleled and with Ashore she fully justified her reputation as Englands foremost song interpreter. This powerful set of contemporary songs alongside classic traditional ballads like 'The Bleacher Lassie Of Kelvinhaugh' and 'The Great Selkie Of Sule Skerry' see June give a spinetingling performance of the Elvis Costello classic 'Shipbuilding' and a new recording of Oysterbands Ian Telfers 'Finisterre'. This featured on Freedom and Rain the album June recorded with Oysterband. June also covers two songs from the pen of Cyril Tawney 'The Grey Funnel Line' and The Oggie Man' both remarkable interpretations.

    The album features June's regular musicians; Andy Cutting on diatonic accordion, Mark Emerson viola and violin, Tim Harries double bass and Huw Warren on piano.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Finistere
      • 2. The Bleacher Lassie of Kelvinhaugh
      • 3. The Grey Funnel Line

      Side 2

      • 1. Le Vingt - Cinquieme Du Mois D'Octobre
      • 2. Shipbuilding
      • 3. Jamaica
      • 4. The Great Selkie of Sule Skerry

      Disc 2

      Side 1

      • 1. Winter Comes In / Vidlin Voe
      • 2. The Oggie Man
      • 3. I'll Go Enlist For A Sailor
      • 4. The Brean Lament

      Side 2

      • 1. Le Petit Navire
      • 2. Across The Wide Ocean