Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: CDSUND5683

PRE-ORDER: This item will be shipped with the aim to deliver on release day.

Release Date:  09 August 2024

Label:  Sundazed Records

Packaging Type:  Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  090771568328

Genres:  Rock  

  • Description

    Dreamy prog rock from former garage-rockers Royal Aircoach!

    These originally unreleased tracks showcase Goodoak & Greene's hook-driven melodies, searing electric solos, and shimmering, layered harmonies.

    After Royal Aircoach disbanded in 1970, lead guitarist/vocalist Bobby Greene and songwriter/guitarist Ed Goodoak were the remaining two of five members in the band. Former drummer Gil Van Geyte and bass player Alan Gagnon went off to college, eventually to work in the corporate world. Keyboard player/vocalist Mark Connelly moved to Boston, released a couple of singles under the name MKC, and then joined Cloud, a progressive rock band.

    As Goodoak's compositions were influencing the direction of Aircoach, Bobby became intensely interested in the creative aspects of record production. These sessions would produce the last of the Aircoach unreleased recordings offering up songs reflecting influences from folk, hard rock, jazz, progressive rock and just a bit of psychedelia.

    A summer breeze can almost be felt in the album's title track, Prism. Ocean waves slowly begin to roar, providing a beautiful backdrop through the "fairyland" that kaleidoscopic eyes of the songwriter's love interest. Peaceful guitars ripple through the waves before a sweeping surge of guitars take over. Like the ocean, they slowly recede into Marina, perhaps the most progressive rock tune on the album. With dynamics often changing pitch and intensity, the high-octane major chords burst through reverb vocals, providing a perfect base for its electric guitar solo.

    With no promotion and no interest in being on the road, "I wasn't really interested in touring that much." Bobby said, "I was more interested in writing songs, producing records and creative consulting. I worked with a lot of artists. We never really marketed the Aircoach album, besides playing at live venues here and there."

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Can't Find a Place
      • 2. Dear Conrad
      • 3. The Man Who Walked Softly
      • 4. Wake Up
      • 5. Lovely Lady
      • 6. For So Long
      • 7. I've Got a Way
      • 8. Seagull in the Sky
      • 9. Prism
      • 10. Marina
      • 11. Summer of '73
      • 12. Believe
      • 13. Glacier Bay