See You Next Time

Joshua Ray Walker

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: SFR5521

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  04 March 2022

Label:  State Fair

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  685674092614

Genres:  Country  Country  

  • Description

    Like its predecessors, See You Next Time came to life at Audio Dallas Recording Studio with producer John Pedigo and a first-rate lineup of musicians, including the likes of pedal-steel player Adam "Ditch" Kurtz and rhythm guitarist Nathan Mongol Wells of Ottoman Turks (the country-punk outfit for which Walker sidelines as lead guitarist). The album's immaculately crafted but timelessly vital sound provides a prime backdrop for Walker's storytelling, an element that endlessly blurs the lines between fable-like fiction and personal revelation. "I learned a long time ago that writing from a character's perspective lets me examine things about myself without ever feeling too self-conscious about it," he points out. Closely informed by the tremendous loss he's suffered in recent years, See You Next Time emerges as the most powerful work to date from an extraordinarily gifted songwriter, imbued with equal parts weary pragmatism and the kind of unabashedly romantic spirit that defies all cynicism.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Dallas Lights
      • 2. Three Strikes
      • 3. Cowboy
      • 4. Sexy After Dark
      • 5. Flash Paper
      • 6. Fossil Fuel
      • 7. Dumpster Diving
      • 8. Gas Station Roses
      • 9. Welfare Chet
      • 10. See You Next Time