Black Truth Rhythm Band

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 12"

Cat No: SNDWLP033X

Release Date:  09 February 2024

Label:  Soundway

Packaging Type:  Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5060571362773

Genres:  World Music  Africa  

  • Description

    Soundway presents a long-awaited remaster and re-cut of the 1976 album 'Ifetayo' by Black Truth Rhythm Band, an important and overlooked chapter in Trinidad's rich musical history that blends West African influences with jazz, funk and the social commentary of the calypso tradition. Led by the charismatic Oluko Imo, the group drew on the strong connections to Yoruba culture and Orisa traditions in Trinidad, looking to Africa for inspiration and reflecting the burgeoning Black Power movement of the time.

    Recorded at KH studios in Port of Spain, Ifetayo (Yoruba for 'Love excels all') was the group's sole album release. Imo contributed lead vocals and played bass, kalimba, conga, flute and percussion, channelling music from both sides of the Atlantic into a distinctive and unique slice of Afro Trinidadian expression.

    Includes bonus track "Imo" not included on the original LP.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Ifetayo
      • 2. You People
      • 3. Save D Musician

      Side 2

      • 1. Kilimanjaro
      • 2. Aspire
      • 3. Umbala
      • 4. Imo