Sones De Mariachi

Mariachi Los Camperos

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: SFW40586

Release Date:  19 January 2024

Label:  Smithsonian Folkways

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  093074058626

Genres:  Folk  Latin Music  

  • Description

    With its driving energy and spirited flair, the son has held the essence of mariachi music for more than 150 years. Even today, the modern mariachi dips into the son repertoire to punctuate its performances, evoking boisterous yells and percussive zapateados from its listeners. In 'Sones de Mariachi', multi-Grammy-winning Mariachi Los Camperos makes its mark on the son legacy, powered by the group's lauded signature sound and leader Jesus "Chuy" Guzman's uplifting arrangements. This meticulously curated mix of popular and lesser-known sones rooted in the western Mexican heartland of mariachi tradition is played with the typical virtuosity, superb vocals, and rhythmic precision of one of the world's greatest mariachis.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Las Olas (Las Solas) - The Waves (The Single Women)
      • 2. El Chinesco
      • 3. El Toro Viejo - The Old Bull
      • 4. El Pasacalles - The Passerby
      • 5. El Toro Antejuelo - The Spotted Bull
      • 6. El Cuervo - The Crow
      • 7. El Gusto - The Pleasure
      • 8. El Becerro - The Young Bull
      • 9. El Gavilancillo - The Little Sparrowhawk
      • 10. El Cuatro - The Four Card
      • 11. El Son Del Perro - The Son Of The Dog
      • 12. El Burro - The Donkey
      • 13. El Huizache - The Sweet Acacia
      • 14. El Palmero - The Palm Man
      • 15. El Tranchete - The Shoemaker's Knife