Love Letters And Other Missiles

Julia Biel

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: RKT030

Release Date:  30 March 2015

Label:  Rokit

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5052442006633

Genres:  Jazz  Vocal Jazz  

  • Description

    'Love Letters and Other Missiles' by Julia Biel features twelve self-penned songs showcasing a singular vocal and song writing talent. "A voice of supreme subtlety and honeyed depth," wrote The Guardian, "the best British vocalist to emerge in an age" said The Independent, whilst Jazzwise coined the phrase "Billie Holiday meets Bjork" for her - quotes demonstrating exactly why she is captivating audiences wherever she goes with her deceptively barbed love songs.

    This is also a British artist redefining the context for a jazz vocal in today's world and creating something ultimately unique. Mashing up jazz, old soul and 60s British rock influences into her own distinctive brew, 'Love Letters and Other Missiles' also has a contemporary alt-pop spin that makes Julia Biel's music accessible and appealing. Her past collaborations with the likes of Everything But the Girl's Ben Watt, Mercury Prize nominated Polar Bear and the boundary-pushing Hidden Orchestra perhaps pointing towards her genre-bending approach but the end result on 'Love Letters and Other Missiles' is something entirely fresh and unmistakably Julia Biel.

    Produced by Idris Rahman and Julia herself with nods to Radiohead, PJ Harvey, Portishead and Bjork as well as to Nina Simone and Billie Holiday, 'Love Letters and Other Missiles' is full of melancholic innocence and epic drama and owes as much to the classic as to the contemporary.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. When The Sun Goes In
      • 2. Nobody Loves You Like I Do
      • 3. We Watch The Stars
      • 4. Licence To Be Cruel
      • 5. Til Tonight
      • 6. You Made Me Write A Love Song
      • 7. Secret Party
      • 8. Little Girl
      • 9. You Do My Head In
      • 10. Playing You
      • 11. Out Of Control
      • 12. Fallen