Anchor Points

Russell Kranes, Alex Levine, Sam Weber, Jay Sawyer

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: OA222219

PRE-ORDER: This item will be shipped with the aim to deliver on release day.

Release Date:  16 August 2024

Label:  OA2 Records

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  0805552221923

Genres:  Jazz  

  • Description

    Since meeting through the New York City jazz scene a decade ago, pianist Russell Kranes, bassist Sam Weber, guitarist Alex Levine, and drummer Jay Sawyer have performed together for thousands of hours across a multitude of musical contexts, developing chemistry and a deep collective musical identity. With their debut recording Anchor Points, they deliver a mix of originals and standards in two iterations of the group - through a trio set of piano/bass/guitar, a nod to the trios of Oscar Peterson and Nat King Cole, as well as the instrumentation that initially brought them together, and the quartet, where Jay Sawyer adds his jubilant swing. Besides capturing and celebrating years of musical camaraderie and connection, the quartet pays homage to the masters and builds upon their profound tradition.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Feint
      • 2. Vivo Sonhando
      • 3. Anchor Points
      • 4. Old Folks
      • 5. Two Sleepy People
      • 6. I'll Get By (As Long As I Have You)
      • 7. Everybody Else But You
      • 8. And So It Goes