Firelight Trio

Firelight Trio

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: EDFLT01

Release Date:  27 January 2023

Label:  Eachday Music

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  880992150392

Genres:  Folk  Roots  

  • Description

    A brand new Scotland-based ensemble featuring musicians from Moishe's Bagel, Gavin Marwick's Journeyman and more! Debut album January 2023, UK touring spring/summer 2023.

    Firelight Trio play European folk music that is evocative, inventive, and endlessly exciting. Driving fiddle and stately nyckelharpa meet deep accordion grooves in a rich tapestry of lively Swedish polskas and Scottish reels, lilting French waltzes, toe-tapping klezmer, dazzling original tunes and more.

    Three friends, six instruments, a world of great tunes and striking arrangements. Firelight Trio brings together musicians from Moishe's Bagel, Gavin Marwick's Journeyman, and Bellevue Rendezvous to create a mighty sound that is exciting, wide ranging, and richly textured. Ruth's resonant nyckelharpa is matched by Gav's powerhouse fiddle, all backed up by Phil's groovily inventive accordion and piano.

    Funded by Creative Scotland, the band's eponymous debut album is a journey of influences and stories, reflecting the wealth of musical experience each band member brings. It's a recording that will always reveal something new, and although the emphasis is on original compositions, the trio also treats some lesser-known traditional material to a radical makeover.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Chasen Senem / Filthy Lucre / The Latvians March
      • 2. En Charrette / The Last Minute
      • 3. Prinsens Polska
      • 4. The Scottish Set: Miss Hog of Newliston / Pass Round the Flagon / Clach na C˘dainn / Mrs Morthland
      • 5. The Radical Road / Roeselare
      • 6. Balkan Polska
      • 7. The Berlin Jig
      • 8. Motl Reyderis Klezmer Set
      • 9. Schicki Micki / Acrobats Bridge
      • 10. The Wages of Gin / Java St Andrews
      • 11. Rooftop Chorale