The Act Of Noticing


Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD


Release Date:  24 May 2024

Label:  Discus Music

Packaging Type:  Digipak

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5051078011424

Genres:  Jazz  Contemporary  

  • Description

    A sense of spacious calm pervades these real time trio improvisations - saxophonist Josephine Davies, pianist David Beebee and vibraphonist Martin Pyne - the three instrumentalists create a gentle weave of sound around each other, almost ambient, but with enough dark or angular corners to keep drawing the listener into the heart of the sound. 'The Act of Noticing' is an invitation to enter a sound world rich in sonic imagery, evocative atmosphere, and finely wrought detail. This album takes listeners on a journey, at one moment guiding them through changing musical landscapes at high speed, at another inviting them to simply stop and stare.

    Josephine Davies: tenor and soprano saxophones
    David Beebee: electric piano, effects
    Martin Pyne: vibraphone, balafon, percussion

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. warm air heavy with the scent of flowers
      • 2. the pleasure of solitude
      • 3. the secret life of the forest
      • 4. morning sunlight through a curtain
      • 5. the many colours of bamboo
      • 6. fresh snowfall at dawn
      • 7. the breeze over a meadow
      • 8. the moment summer turns to autumn
      • 9. unexpected beauty
      • 10. the boundless imagination of children
      • 11. the ever changing nature of river water