England Made Me (25th Anniversary Edition)

Black Box Recorder

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 2LP

Cat No: CRV1610

Format Details: 25th Anniversary Edition

Release Date:  17 November 2023

Label:  Chrysalis Records

Packaging Type:  Gate Fold Vinyl

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  0810098509886

Genres:  Rock  

  • Description

    English indie rock group Black Box Recorder formed in London in 1997 and featured Sarah Nixey, Luke Haines (of The Auteurs), and John Moore (of The Jesus and Mary Chain). Their debut album, England Made Me, was released on Chrysalis Records in 1998. The album was named after the eponymous Graham Greene novel and fuses indie rock and easy-listening pop stylings with lyrics that explore life and the experience of growing up in England. Pitchfork's Michael Sandlin described the sound of the album as "mildly morose but slightly tongue-in-cheek Sylvia Plath-meets-Paul McCartney pop sensibility".

    England Made Me remains a high point in the band's catalogue with standout tracks including 'Kidnapping An Heiress', 'Girl Singing In The Wreckage', and the single 'Child Psychology' which was recently back in the spotlight with a viral moment on social media after being championed by Billie Eilish.

    This new anniversary edition has been curated with the assistance of the band and features a newly remaster version of the album, along with a bonus 10" vinyl that includes six b-sides, 4 of which are first time on vinyl. All audio has been remastered from the original production tapes by Phil Kinrade at AIR Mastering and and cut by Alex Wharton at Abbey Road Studios.

    Format:The album is presented on 180gm black vinyl, and 140gm 10" vinyl housed in a gatefold sleeve, with poly-lined inner bags and an 6-page booklet featuring photographs and lyrics.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Girl Singing In The Wreckage
      • 2. England Made Me
      • 3. New Baby Boom
      • 4. It's Only The End Of The World
      • 5. Ideal Home

      Side 2

      • 1. Child Psychology
      • 2. I.C. One Female
      • 3. Up Town Top
      • 4. Swinging
      • 5. Kidnapping An Heiress

      Disc 2

      Side 1

      • 1. Hated Sunday
      • 2. Brutality
      • 3. Seasons In The Sun
      • 4. Watch The Angel Not The Wire

      Side 2

      • 1. Factory Radio
      • 2. Wonderful Life
      • 3. Lord Lucan Is Missing