French Sonatas For Harpsichord & Violin

Johannes Pramsohler; Philippe Grisvard

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 2CD

Cat No: ADX13710

Email me when this is available

Release Date:  23 February 2018

Label:  Audax

Packaging Type:  Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  3770004137107

Genres:  Classical  Baroque  

  • Description


    In 1740, with the op. 4 of Jean-Joseph Cassanéa de Mondonville, a new genre appeared on the scene in France, a genre that was to fundamentally overturn the relationship to the harpsichord – until then a continuo instrument when it was not playing alone: the Pièces de clavecin en sonates avec accompagnement de violon.

    Contrary to what the title might suggest, the two instruments engage in a dialogue as equals. Unknowingly, Mondonville imitated the Sei Suonate à Cembalo certato e Violino solo that Bach had composed ten years earlier.

    Moreover, he introduced a thoroughly Italian flavour – certainly an echo of the concertos by Corelli and Vivadli that at the time were often heard at the Concert Spirituel.

    The following decade then experienced a veritable rage for this form: Corrette, Guillemain, Balbastre, and others put their visions of the theme on paper – each in a very personal manner.

    The "Dream Team" (Early Music Review), made up of the two indefatigable researchers Philippe Grisvard and Johannes Pramsohler, has rediscovered this neglected part of the violin-harpsichord repertoire and now presents a captivating selection of the genre's best works in world premiere recordings on an opulent double CD.

    * world premiere recordings

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. Jean-Joseph Cassanéa De Mondonville: Sonate Op.3, No.1 En Sol Mineur
      • 2. Louis-Gabriel Guillemain: Sonate Op.8, No.5 En Ré Majeur*
      • 3. Claude Balbastre: Sonate I En Sol Majeur
      • 4. Louis-Gabriel Guillemain: Sonate Op.8, No.6 En Sol Mineur *
      • 5. Charles-François Clément: Sonate No.1 En Do Mineur *
      • 6. Jacques Duphly: Suite En Sol Majeur

      Disc 2

      • 1. Jean-Joseph Cassanéa De Mondonville Sonate Op.3, No.6 En La Majeur
      • 2. Michel Corrette: Sonate Op.25, No.4 En Mi Mineur
      • 3. Louis-Gabriel Guillemain: Sonate Op.8, No.4 En Do Mineur *
      • 4. Luc Marchand: Suite Op.1, No.1 En La Mineur *
      • 5. Jacques Duphly: Suite En Fa Majeur