New Zapp Iv U / Vibe (Deluxe Edition)


Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: 2CD


Email me when this is available

Format Details: Deluxe Edition /

Release Date:  06 August 2021

Label:  Cherry Red Ada / Cherry Red

Packaging Type:  Brilliant Case (Jewel Case size, Holds 2 CDs)

No of Units:  2

Barcode:  5013929953529

Genres:  R&B  Funk  

  • Description

    Following the success of the first Robinsongs Zapp reissue of their first three albums, we now bring you albums four and five "The New Zapp IV U" and "Vibe" on a 2CD set. "The New Zapp IV U" was originally released in 1985 and was certified Gold in America. The album featured the singles 'It Doesn't Really Matter', 'Itchin' For Your Twitchin'' and Top 10 R&B Hit 'Computer Love'.

    Originally released in 1989, Zapp's fifth album "Vibe" featured the single 'Ohh Baby Baby'. The album also featured the standout tracks 'I Play The Talk Box' and Zapp's unique version of the Ohio Players classic 'Fire'. But the real treat on this package are the bonus tracks: we have Zapp's version of the 2 Pac classic 'California Love'; the extended and instrumental versions of 'Computer Love'; the band's version of 'Chocolate City'; the extended version of 'I Play The Talk Box' and plenty of other gems.

    The story of Zapp did not have a happy ending: tragedy struck in 1999 when Roger was shot dead by his brother Larry, who then turned the gun on himself. No motive was clear. This release features liner notes by MOJO & Record Collector writer Charles Waring.

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. It Doesn’t Really Matter
      • 2. Computer Love
      • 3. Itchin’ For Your Twitchin’
      • 4. Radio People
      • 5. I Only Have Eyes For You
      • 6. Rock N Roll
      • 7. Cas-Ta-Spellonme
      • 8. Make Me Feel Good
      • 9. Ja Ready To Rock
      • 10. Computer Love (Extended Version)
      • 11. California Love (Feat. Dale Degroat & Big Robb)
      • 12. Chocolate City
      • 13. Computer Love (Instrumental)

      Disc 2

      • 1. Ohh Baby Baby
      • 2. I Play The Talk Box
      • 3. Stop That
      • 4. Fire
      • 5. Been This Way Before
      • 6. Back To Bass-Iks
      • 7. Jesse Jackson
      • 8. Ain’t The Thing To Do
      • 9. Sad Day Moaning
      • 10. Rock Star
      • 11. Jake E Standstill
      • 12. I Play The Talk Box (Extended Version)
      • 13. Ohh Baby Baby (12â€� Version)
      • 14. Fire (Instrumental Jazz Version)
      • 15. I Play The Talk Box (Dub Mix)