This Land Is Your Land: The Asch Recordings, Vol. 1

Woody Guthrie

Sold Out
Unit Price

Format: CD

Cat No: SFW40100

Release Date:  18 February 1997

Label:  Smithsonian Folkways

Packaging Type:  Jewel Case

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  093074010020

Genres:  Folk  

  • Description

    The first in a series of four, this recording presents many of Woody Guthrie's best known songs taken from the original masters. Included here is the original version of Woody's anthem "This Land Is Your Land," which contains never-before issued lyrics. A major force in the urban folk song revival, Guthrie created an intimate portrait of America—its land and people. He has influenced many contemporary artists, among them Bob Dylan, Phil Ochs, Billy Bragg, and Bruce Springsteen. During the 1930s and 40s, Woody Guthrie wrote more than a thousand songs, recording hundreds of them for Folkways founder Moses Asch. The surviving masters now reside in the Folkways archive at the Smithsonian Institution. Running time: 72 minutes; 36-page booklet includes historical and biographical notes on Woody Guthrie. Compiled by Jeff Place and Guy Logsdon. "The single finest Guthrie Collection Available." —Music Central

  • Tracklisting

      Disc 1

      Side 1

      • 1. This Land Is Your Land
      • 2. Car Song
      • 3. Ramblin' Round
      • 4. Talking Fishing Blues
      • 5. Philadelphia Lawyer
      • 6. Lindbergh
      • 7. Hobo's Lullaby
      • 8. Pastures Of Plenty
      • 9. Grand Coulee Dam
      • 10. End Of The Line
      • 11. New York Town
      • 12. Gypsy Davy
      • 13. Jesus Christ
      • 14. This Land is Your Land
      • 15. Do-Re-Mi
      • 16. Jarama Valley
      • 17. Biggest Thing Man Has Ever Done
      • 18. Picture From Life`s Other Side
      • 19. Jesse James
      • 20. Talking Hard Work
      • 21. When That Great Ship Went Down
      • 22. Hard, Ain`t It Hard
      • 23. Going Down The Road Feeling Bad
      • 24. I Ain't Got Nobody
      • 25. Sinking Of The Reuben James
      • 26. Why, Oh Why?
      • 27. This Land Is Your Land